你好,我是
Charles Hayes

IDEO合伙人兼亚洲区执行总裁

Charles是IDEO亚洲区执行总裁和IDEO合伙人,常驻上海,负责开拓IDEO在当地市场的业务,帮助客户运用创新来创造价值和驱动发展。作为客户管理层团队的战略顾问,他致力于帮助客户打造强大的消费者品牌、解决系统性挑战并推动新创事业走向市场。他的合作领域包括:食品饮料、零售、健康医疗、教育、酒店和消费品。

除了客户合作,Charles还通过开发驻地初创企业和驻地专家计划、建设合作关系网络和开发IDEO在亚洲的发展新模式,帮助进一步扩大IDEO的影响力。凭借杰出的内部创业能力,Charles获选Aspen研究院2016届“先行人”称号。

Charles的各种见解和观点都颇受追捧,经常受邀为媒体机构撰文,并在各类国际论坛、企业领导力活动和学术机构发表演讲。他尤为热衷于探讨这样一些主题:由企业家和初创公司来驱动创造新的经济和社会价值;如何培养创新领导力;亚洲企业走向全球的机遇和挑战;运用以人为本的设计方法来解决系统性挑战。2014年,Charles凭借对创造力、商业和人才培养的重要贡献,获选《快公司》中国评选的“中国商业最具创意人物100”之一。2015年,他被委任为Coursera中国顾问委员会成员。

加入IDEO前,Charles已在全球各地工作了15年,不仅担任过管理咨询师、创意总监,同时他自己也是一位企业家。他曾成功帮助纽约的一家互联网初创公司首次公开募股,还在伦敦推出了自己的风险注资健康品牌,并为东京的一家数码公司打造了互动品牌和市场营销部。

Charles毕业于宾夕法尼亚大学沃顿商学院和伦敦艺术大学中央圣马丁艺术与设计学院,并获得相关学位。在圣马丁就学期间,他还兼任了副讲师一职。早在学生时代,他就受邀参加剑桥大学和伦敦商学院的特设课程。

Hello, I’m Charles Hayes

Partner and Executive Managing Director, IDEO Shanghai

I lead IDEO's business in China: from setting the vision, to building client relationships to enabling the next generation of talent to deliver world-class work. I work with leaders, organizations and networks to influence and shape the role of design to create positive impact in China, and throughout Asia. Specifically, I focus on entrepreneurship, going global, tackling systemic challenges and creative leadership.

What you won't learn from my bio:
I have done adventure moto rides in Africa, Europe, Asia and North America with plans to cover Australia and South America in the works!

Joined IDEO: 
2008

Full Bio

Charles is Executive Managing Director, Asia and a Partner at IDEO. Based in Shanghai, he leads IDEO’s business in the region and works with clients to create value and growth through innovation. He acts as an advisor and strategic guide for client executive teams and focuses on helping them build strong consumer brands, tackle systemic challenges, and launch new ventures. His work has spanned industries including: food and beverage, retail, healthcare, education, hospitality and consumer goods.

In addition to working with clients, Charles helps amplify the impact of IDEO’s work by creating start-up and expert in-residence programs, building networks for collaboration, and developing new models for growth for IDEO in Asia. Recognised as an exceptional institutional intrapreneur, Charles has been selected by The Aspen Institute as a First Movers Fellow in the class of 2016.

Charles’s views are much sought-after, and he has been invited to write for the press and speak at international forums, corporate leadership events and academic institutions. In particular, he is interested in entrepreneurs and startups as a driving force for creating new economic and social  value, how to cultivate creative leadership, the opportunities and challenges of Asian enterprises going global, and using human-centered design to tackle systemic challenges. Charles was recognized in 2014 in FastCompany China magazine as one of 100 Most Creative People in Business for his contribution to creativity, business and nurturing talent. In 2015, he was appointed as a Member of Coursera’s China Advisory Board.

Prior to joining IDEO, Charles worked for 15 years globally, mixing roles as a management consultant, an entrepreneur and a creative director. He has participated in the successful initial public offering of an internet start-up in New York, launched his own venture-funded wellbeing business in London, and built the interactive brand and marketing arm of a digital agency in Tokyo.

Charles holds degrees from the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania, and Central Saint Martins College at the University of the Arts, London, where he was also an associate lecturer. During his studies, Charles was invited to participate in special programs at Cambridge University and London Business School.

In his spare time, he is an avid adventure motorcycle rider, including long-distance tours across Asia, North America, Africa and Europe. Charles also enjoys a good glass of wine after a long run with his Siberian Husky, Huli.