为了提升您的浏览体验,IDEO的网站会使用Cookie。
阅读我们的Cookie政策。
Uh oh! Looks like your browser’s out of date.
You’ll have more fun viewing our site on one of these instead.
×

了解遗传基因信息已像用试管收集唾液般简单,但我们如何从DNA数据中获益?IDEO调查了1000多名美国消费者,了解他们希望获取的基因测序服务。其中一位受访者表示:“希望我得到的基因信息让我可以采取对应行动,例如建议、行动计划、应用程序和工具。信息就像空气,只有我用得到时才算有用。”

事实证明,能通过遗传基因信息为我们提供建议,改善生活质量(如健康状况、绘制家族史、甚至找到有效的锻炼方式)的工具并不多。

为充分利用人类丰富的基因数据,Helix提出建立首个在线平台,提供个性化的DNA信息分析报告的产品。这家初创公司的创始人找到IDEO,帮助他们确定未来的市场细分,设计品牌和产品,以将这一构想变成现实。

我们本可以与传统的管理咨询公司合作,但IDEO给我们带来了更多:综合的市场和品牌战略,以及对用户的深入见解。

JUSTIN KAO,HELIX联合创始人兼业务发展及合作关系高级副总裁

用户可以通过邮寄套装工具向Helix寄送唾液样本。Helix将对唾液样本的22000个基因进行测序,并利用可靠品牌和创新开发商开发的产品深入分析你的健康、血统、娱乐、家庭、健身和营养情况。与Apple应用程序商店类似,Helix平台上的产品可以单独购买,开发商也可以随时推出新产品。因此,即使有新产品和新的基因组学发现出现,用户也可以使用之前唾液样本的数据了解个人基因信息。

Helix Lineup 1

通过Helix的邮寄套装工具寄送唾液样本,用户可以获得个性化报告以及数十种基于DNA信息的产品。

IDEO的研究涵盖了多种用户,包括最先采用家庭基因测试的用户和爱好“自我量化”的用户,并调查了全国Helix的潜在客户。这项定性、定量研究验证了Helix的“应用商店”商业模式,并为了解人们最感兴趣的产品提供重要见解。

通过合作,Helix发掘出了消费者对基因组学企业最迫切的需求:

  • 优先基因测试结果的准确性和隐私性
  • 鼓励发现和探索基因
  • 注重每个人的独特品质

IDEO的民族志学家、数据科学家和设计师团队参与制定Helix的品牌战略(包括品牌名称Helix),并为该公司如何与客户建立联系以及如何呈现产品制定蓝图。Helix商店已于2017年7月推出。

DNA曾经十分神秘,只能通过观察父母猜测相关信息。现在,足不出户也可以使用真正专业的工具获知基因信息。

Helix Screenshot 1

Helix商店营养版块提供多种产品,包括制作个性化饮食计划、了解个人新陈代谢等。

Uh oh! Looks like your browser’s out of date.
You’ll have more fun viewing our site on one of these instead.
×
  • Send this to a friend:

    (required)
    (required)

The Challenge

Collaborate with the startup Helix to rethink the way people use their genetic data.

Impact

Helix raised $100 million in funding and achieved product-market fit for its innovation.

The Outcome

Helix's market size and segmentation, as well as key consumer insights and brand strategy

Accessing our genetic code is as easy as spitting in a tube, but how can we benefit from all that DNA data? IDEO surveyed more than 1,000 Americans about the gene sequencing services they want. "Give me things I can act on,” one respondent said. “Give me advice, action plans, apps, and tools. Information is just air until I can put it to use." As it turns out, tools that can translate our genetic information into better life choices—to improve our health, chart our family history, or even find an effective exercise routine—are hard to come by.

Inspired to organize and apply the wealth of genetic data in all of us, Helix envisioned the first online platform for products that offer insights based on a person’s unique DNA sequence. The startup’s founders approached IDEO to help them get to launch by identifying their future market segments and designing their brand and product offering.

We could’ve worked with a traditional management consulting firm, but what IDEO gave us was so much more—an integrated market and brand strategy paired with deep user insights.

JUSTIN KAO, CO-FOUNDER and SVP of BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT and PARTNERSHIPS, HELIX

Helix sequences all 22,000 of your genes from one saliva sample—sent in a mail-in kit—and hosts a marketplace of products developed by trusted brands and innovative developers that explore your health, ancestry, entertainment, family, fitness, and nutrition. Similar to the Apple app store, Helix lets you pay individually for the products you want and is a platform for developers to launch new offerings over time. After you've provided a DNA sample once, every product in the Helix store is made available to you on-demand. So, as new products are launched and new discoveries are made in the field of genomics, the data from your original sample is all you’ll need to keep exploring your personal genetic insights.

Submitting your saliva sample through Helix's mail-in kit unlocks access to a personalized report, as well as dozens of products that offer DNA-based insights.

IDEO engaged a range of users, including early adopters of at-home genetic tests and “quantified self” enthusiasts, and surveyed potential Helix customers across the country. That qualitative and quantitative research validated Helix’s “app store” business model and provided key insights into the products people were most interested in.

Through the partnership, Helix uncovered what users need most from a genomics company:

  • to prioritize the accuracy and privacy of DNA test results
  • to encourage a sense of discovery and exploration of our genes
  • to celebrate each individual’s unique qualities

A team of ethnographers, data scientists, and designers at IDEO helped direct the startup’s brand approach (including its name, Helix) and crafted a blueprint for how the company connects with customers and presents its product. The Helix store launched in July 2017.

Our DNA used to be a mystery—something we guessed at by observing our parents. Now, easy access to our genetic code—and the tools to truly understand it—arrives on our doorstep.

Create a personalized meal plan, learn about your metabolism, and more with products in the Nutrition category of the Helix store.

  • Send this to a friend:

    (required)
    (required)
  • Send this to a friend:

    (required)
    (required)