比尔及梅琳达·盖茨基金会携手IDEO探索如何挖掘现代科技潜力,协助教师提供规模化的高品质教学体验。

在与从事一线教学工作的老师、学生、创业者与技术人员的深入沟通过程中,IDEO看到了一个双重挑战:一方面,教师需要更多可供课堂使用的高质量教学工具;另一方面,教育科技创业家需要对教学课堂有更深入的理解,才能开发出高效实用的科技产品。

IDEO从这个洞察出发,携手盖茨基金会合作设计并推出了一套名为Teachers Know Best的数字平台,这套平台致力于邀请终端用户来共同开发各种新的工具和科技,涵盖3,000名教育工作者与1,200名学生的调研数据,这些互动资源俨然成为了连接创业者与课堂的一条纽带。

该平台同时提供了宝贵的洞察,帮助初创企业聚焦、优化和规模化,并为学校提供了搜寻和选择课堂教育产品的关键信息。此外,该平台还发挥了论坛的作用,教师与学生可在上面对超过500个现有资源进行打分和点评。

最终产出的平台对科技创业者、教育人士和学生等相关方都大有裨益 ---- 创业者对课堂需求有了更加清晰的理解,教师和学生也找到了发表意见的渠道。Teachers Know Best于2015年5月在New School Ventures Fund峰会上正式向创业者和教育人士开放。

现在,教育科技创业者与投资人可以直接看到可行数据,不需要再听信坊间流传的教师需求了。

比尔及梅琳达·盖茨基金会

平台支持直观的对比功能,产品开发员可以抓取和研究教师与学生对500多个现有产品和工具的反馈。

Tkb Portfolio All 05

视觉化的数据展示方式,可以让创业者根据所授科目、年级与学习环境等不同条件来筛选教师需求。

Tkb Portfolio All 03

The Challenge

Provide teachers with better classroom technology and ed-tech entrepreneurs with a better understanding of teachers' needs.

The Outcome

A digital platform that connects those who design educational tools to those who use them.

A platform designed to connect education technology entrepreneurs with teachers and students

Tkb Portfolio All 01

The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation partnered with IDEO to explore how to harness the potential of technology to support teachers in delivering high-quality education at scale.

By talking to the people on the front lines—teachers, students, entrepreneurs, and technologists—IDEO discovered a dual challenge: Teachers need a broader array of quality tools to use in the classroom, and the ed tech entrepreneurs need a window into the classroom to create the most effective technology products.

With this insight in hand, IDEO worked with the Gates Foundation to design, build, and launch Teachers Know Best, a digital platform aimed at connecting those creating new tools and technologies with the people who ultimately use them. Powered by the results of a large-scale survey of 3,000 educators and 1,200 students, the interactive resource acts as the bridge to connect entrepreneurs to classrooms. The site provides invaluable insight to help startups focus, refine, and scale their work, and provides essential information on how schools find and select products to use in the classroom, as well as a forum for teachers and students to rate and respond to more than 500 existing resources.

The resulting platform is a boon for tech entrepreneurs, educators, and students alike—giving entrepreneurs a clearer understanding of what's needed, and giving teachers and students a voice. Teachers Know Best launched in May, 2015 for entrepreneurs and educators at the New School Ventures Fund Summit.

Instead of relying on anecdotes about what teachers want and need, EdTech entrepreneurs and investors now have direct access to actionable data.

Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

A side-by-side comparison feature enables product developers to mine teacher and student feedback for over 500 hundred existing products and tools.

Tkb Portfolio All 05

Data visualizations allow entrepreneurs to filter teacher needs by subject, grade, learning environment, and more.

Tkb Portfolio All 03

To learn more about this project and how to work with IDEO, get in touch.