Uh oh! Looks like your browser’s out of date.
You’ll have more fun viewing our site on one of these instead.
×

执行设计总监Thomas Overthun是一名工业设计师,他在IDEO工作了快25年。他作为首席设计师参与了许多我们在日常生活产品的设计,在这些年里,他观察到了工业设计专业的一种发展趋势。他认为将优质产品推向市场的关键在于整体思维。

IDEO:你觉得在产品设计中运用整体思维是指什么呢?

THOMAS OVERTHUN: 当公司设计产品并将新产品推向市场时,可能很容易将关注点完全放在产品身上。但我们不能指望产品它自己来完成所有的工作,如果没有合适的舞台,它没有办法大放异彩。虽然我们明白对于不同的人来说,美意味着不同的东西,但我们的工作就是要发现美。而我所说的整体设计,是在寻求一种整齐划一的声音。换句话说,我们应该怎样让产品体验的不同部分联系在一起?在IDEO,我们有各种团队,比如工业设计师、交互设计师和品牌战略师,他们在一个屋檐下紧密合作,让服务、屏幕、形式、功能和品牌像一支管弦乐队一样合奏出美妙的乐章,创造出最优美的解决方案。无论我们是在为希望保持品牌传承性的老品牌设计产品,还是为一个即将进行下一轮融资的初创公司设计产品,我们都用设计来赋予这些商业机会生命力,正如我们在INFARMPillPack等项目中的实践一样。从设计初始就运用整体设计思维就像是有了一颗北极星,为你在设计过程中提供明确的方向和指引,并最终将品牌和消费者真正地联系在一起。

IDEO:在日益数字化的世界中,您觉得产品设计出现了哪些变化?

如今,品牌通过精心设计的线下体验和产品来与消费者建立联系,进而从市场中脱颖而出。以可穿戴设备为例,实体设备的设计要具有科技感,但我们在设计时也非常注重如何让设备本身增强消费者与服务和品牌之间的联系。

我们最近与Sensassure的团队进行了一项合作,Sensassure是一家专注于设计失禁监测解决方案的创业公司。他们对用户十分用心,这点非常打动我们,他们在疗养院的地板上睡了几个月,与住院医生和护理人员一起测试原型。除了产品的工业设计之外,我们与Sensassure的这项合作的目标不仅仅是让这个失禁跟踪系统的设计是可接受的,而是要让它成为一个理想的、满意的设计。我们对产品及其相关接触点的设计希望传达出一种清新、现代的感觉,而且要能符合品牌的理念,即让存在身体和精神上困扰的人们能有正常人的体验和尊严感,同时又能得到恰当的护理。

从客户的工作原型开始,我们重新设计了传感器,保护套和外围设备(如充电器和集线器)的硬件系统。与此同时,我们设计了一个新的标识和一套新的设计语言,包括一个规定类型、颜色和模式如何在产品、包装和数字平台上显示的图形系统。

我们还与专注于简化业余体育比赛视频拍摄的Peeq Data进行了密切合作。这个产品的原理简单说来就是,玩家佩戴触控器来触发放置在场地周围的摄像机。公司的创始人Mark Gray抛给IDEO的问题是:“我们的产品中有一些部分是由Peeq自己开发的,而另一些,如三脚架和手提箱,则是来自于市场的现有产品,我们应该如何统一这个由混合来源组成的产品?”我们没有从硬件套件入手,而是很快意识到应该把精心编辑的、品牌化的比赛视频剪辑和队员的个人精彩回放作为实际产品。我们从一个整体的角度去进行了Peeq的视觉品牌标识、品牌视频元素和硬件设计。

我们设计了一个叫做kick)的图标和图形,将它应用在标识、各类印刷品、视频的片头和转场动画中。这个10度角的图标被运用在了这套系统的各个地方,包括触控器上,这个图标必须要能代表品牌动态和活力的属性以及运动的环境,但又不能在游戏中太显眼。我们还为佩戴触控器设计了三种不同的解决方案:袋夹、贴纸和防汗带,以适应不同的运动种类。

IDEO: 你现在正在通过设计推动哪些前沿呢?

让服务能够被触知。

最近,我一直在考虑如何增加服务品牌的实际触感。我们如何让设计跳出屏幕之外,使AirBnB这样的服务品牌具有更加实体的触感?我对于设计品牌“图腾”很有兴趣,“图腾”标志着这些公司文化以及他们的客户与他们的关系。

互联家居产品。

“家”的性质正在发生着变化,它不再是一个永久不变的居所,所以家居物件的设计和作用会跟着有哪些变化呢?它们如何来建立使用者与其所在环境之间的关系?它们怎样变得“便携”,让人们不管在哪里都能有家的感觉?当我们看到下一个“智能家居技术”热潮时,这些产品的实体设计如何才能像它们的功能一样直观和智能?

让经典品牌变得更加现代。

通过设计,我们可以改变传统品牌的角色及其与人们的关系,就像我们为Brooks England所做的一样。Brooks是一个传承150多年历史的品牌,他们找到我们,让我们为其设计一款名为Cambium的自行车坐垫,这是他们几十年来的第一款新产品。后来,我们又为他们设计了Metropolitan Collection骑行包。新的材料、现代的造型和清新的设计语言仍然凸显了这一经典品牌的内涵,但同时也展现了一种大胆而现代的美学,推动品牌的发展。

Cambium注重采用现代形式而不再使用皮革,催生出了骑行包的一种新外观。而极简风的特别定制五金,几乎不可见的接缝,带有独特菱格纹的明亮内衬以及基本为单色的外皮则是Metropolitan系列的标志。内里标牌上的视觉元素则是向Brooks悠久历史的致敬。

IDEO: 你觉得工业设计师的角色正在发生哪些变化呢?

现在比起以往任何时候,工业设计师更加需要在设计过程中引入更多方面的合作伙伴。除了工程师和制造专家等传统合作伙伴,我们还要与交互、沟通,用户体验和品牌设计师密切合作。为了确保整体体验的完整性,我们不仅需要深厚的专业能力,而且也要具备多方面的能力,这样我们才能够为客户做更多的事情。

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience.
And cake to boost morale on Fridays. Find out more about our cookie policy here.
Uh oh! Looks like your browser’s out of date.
You’ll have more fun viewing our site on one of these instead.
×

Executive Design Director Thomas Overthun is an industrial designer who has worked at IDEO for nearly 25 years. He’s been the lead designer for a wide range of products we use in our daily lives, and, over the years, he’s observed an evolution of the industrial design discipline. He believes the key to bringing great products to market lies in a holistic approach.

IDEO: What does it mean to you to take a holistic approach to product design?

THOMAS OVERTHUN: When companies look to design and bring a new product to market, it can be tempting to zero in on the product itself. But we cannot expect the product to do all the work, and it cannot shine if the stage isn’t properly set. We're driven to find beauty in what we do, though we understand that this means different things to different people. In the context of what I like to describe as holistic design, it's the search for a singular, unified voice. In other words, how might we connect the dots across different parts of a product’s experience? IDEO is a place where diverse teams of industrial designers, interaction designers, and brand strategists—to name a few—are closely collaborating under one roof so that service, screens, form, function, and brand are all working together like an orchestra to create the most elegant solution. Whether we’re designing a product with a heritage brand looking to stay relevant, or a startup on its way to the next round of investment, we bring these business opportunities—like INFARM and PillPack—to life with design. Applying holistic design right from the start serves as a powerful north star in the design process and ultimately creates a genuine connection for brand and consumer.

How do you see product design changing in an increasingly digital world?

Today, well-designed physical experiences and products help brands build relationships with consumers and differentiate themselves in the market. With wearables for instance, we design the physical device as a vessel for technology, but we also take great care to design how the device itself reinforces the relationship for the consumer with the service and brand.

We recently partnered with the team at Sensassure, a startup focused on designing a solution for monitoring incontinence. We were blown away by their commitment to users, literally sleeping on the floors of nursing homes for months, testing prototypes with residents and care staff. Beyond the industrial design of the product, our collaboration with Sensassure aimed to push the design of the incontinence tracking system from acceptable to desirable. We designed the product and its surrounding touchpoints to feel fresh, modern, and appropriate for a brand that wants to bring a sense of normality and dignity, along with tailored care, to people with a physically and emotionally challenging condition.

Sensassure Block R2

Starting from the client’s working prototype, we redesigned the hardware system for the sensor, protective sleeve, and peripherals like the charger and hub. In parallel, we created a new logo and design language, including a graphical system specifying how type, color, and patterns work together on product, packaging and digital platforms.

We also collaborated closely with Peeq Data, which is focused on streamlining the process of video capture for amateur sports. Put simply, players wear trackers that trigger video cameras placed around the field. Founder Mark Gray approached IDEO asking “How do we unify an offering that consists of a mixture of digital and physical products, some of them developed by Peeq and others, such as tripods and carrying cases, coming from existing sources?” Taking a step back from the hardware kit, we quickly realized that the actual product was going to be well-edited, branded video clips of the game and highlight reels for individual players. We developed a comprehensive approach to Peeq’s visual brand identity, branded video elements, and hardware design.

Peeq Blocq R6 New

We developed an icon and graphic pattern—code-named the “kick”—that appears in the logo, the typographic system, the title sequence, and the motion graphics separating video clips. The 10 degree angle appears across the system, including the physical tracker, which has to represent the dynamic character of the brand and athletic context, yet be unobtrusive during games. We also designed three different solutions for wearing the tracker: a clip-on pouch, a sticker, and a sweatband, giving players a choice appropriate for their sport.

What edges are you excited to push with your craft?

Making service tangible. Lately, I’ve been thinking about how we can bring more physicality to service brands. How might we design beyond the screen to make service brands like AirBnB feel more tangible? I’m interested in designing brand “totems” that are iconic of the cultures of those companies and how their customers relate to them.

Connected products for the home. As the nature of “home” is changing, and often becoming less permanent, how does the design and role of objects within the home change as well? How do they create relationships between their users and their environments? How do they become “portable” to give a sense of home wherever you are? And as we see the next wave of “smart home technologies,” how can the physical design of these products be as intuitive and smart as their functionality?

Modernizing brands with heritage. Using design, we can transform the role of legacy brands and people’s relationships to them, like we did for Brooks England. Brooks has been around for more than 150 years and came to us to design the Cambium bike saddle—their first new product in decades—and later the Metropolitan Collection of cycling bags. The new materials, modern shapes and fresh design language still reflect strongly what the heritage brand represents, but also show a bold and modern aesthetic that will carry the brand forward.

Brooks Block

Cambium’s focus on modern form and departure from leather prompted a new take on cycling bags. Minimal, custom-designed hardware, few visible seams, and bright interiors with distinct quilting and largely monochrome exteriors define the Metropolitan range. Visual elements on inside labels give a nod to Brooks’ long history.

How do you see the role of the industrial designer changing?

Now more than ever, the role of the industrial designer is expanding to engage a broader range of partners in the design process. Beyond more traditional partners—engineers and manufacturing experts—we’re working closely with interaction, communication, user experience and brand designers. To ensure a holistic overall experience, our goal is to be both deep and broad in our capabilities, enabling us to do more for our clients.

  • Thomas Overthun

    Executive Design Director, IDEO San Francisco
    As an executive director of industrial design, Thomas Overthun leads design teams to focus on the entire journey of each product.